As every search marketer should be aware by now, AdWords enhanced campaigns now allow you to set campaign-level bid multipliers for your mobile impressions, and also by geo. While mobile bid multipliers seem to be more of a step backward compared to mobile targeted campaigns, geo bid multipliers are actually a nice feature and definitely a step forward in terms of control and transparency.

Anyway, this post is about helping search marketers determine those mobile and geo bid multipliers based on historical data.

1. Pulling The Data From AdWords

In AdWords, first go to the ‘Dimensions’ tab, then select ‘View: Geographic’ and update the column set as follows :

columns

Depending on the size of your account, you might want to use a filter in order to limit the amount of data you want to look at – using a filter such as ‘Impressions>=100’ will help do that:

filtre

When downloading the report, use the ‘Device’ segment:

device

Now, we’ve got all the data we need to analyze device and top locations’ performance.

2. Determining Mobile Bid Multipliers

I have shared an Excel spreadsheet in order to help go through this process. You can download it here: Device and Geo Bid Multipliers.

Provided that mobile bid multipliers can only be set at the campaign-level and are relative to Desktop/Tablets bids, one should first aggregate Tablet and Desktop together, then compare Mobile against it.

One simple way to go about it is to use the formula below  based on the ‘Device’ field: =IF(LEFT(B3,6)=”Mobile,” “Mobile,” “Desktop/Tablet”)

formula to group tablet and desktop

Now, you can look into your historical performance by Desktop&Tablet vs. Mobile, which will help you determine your mobile bid multipliers for each individual campaign:

cpc by device

Conv rate by device

cpa by device

What is your Mobile CPA target? You can relate it to the Desktop/Tablet CPA target, such as: Mobile CPA target = X *Desktop&Tablet CPA, where X is a multiplier which reflects the role of mobile impressions for your business.

For instance, you might be able to determine that you are ok with your mobile CPA being twice as great as your Desktop&Tablet CPA since those mobile impressions are more about brand awareness, not so much about immediate conversions.

Then, for a given campaign, say your Desktop&Tablet CPA is $29.46 vs. $118.28 on mobile, and you are ok with the mobile CPA being twice as great as on Desktop&Tablet, then your mobile bid multiplier can be defined as Mobile Bid Multiplier = (Mobile CPA Target * 100 / Historical Mobile CPA )– 1, such as 2 * $29.46 * 100 / $118.28 – 1 = – 50%.

As a result, your mobile bid multiplier should be negative 50% for this particular campaign to achieve your mobile goal.

The attached spreadsheet should help apply the same logic to all campaigns with historical data across all devices. Note that you all want to make sure you’ve got enough data to determine those mobile multipliers, hence the ‘Click threshold’ field in the attached spreadsheet.

mobile bids

Note that you should rename your mobile-only and tablet-only campaigns just like your primary desktop campaigns for this tool to work in case you had broken down your campaigns by device.

3. Determining Geo Bid Multipliers

Using the same report and same spreadsheet, you should be able to easily visualize your historical performance by geo – for instance, by country to keep it simple – the ‘Most specific location’ field is way more granular:

CPC by country

Conv rate by country

CPA by country

Then, the same Excel spreadsheet can help suggest some geo bid multipliers for those locations with a statistically significant amount of clicks, assuming you want each geo’s CPA to converge toward your campaign-level CPA – which basically means you want to invest more where over-efficient, and cut the spend where under-efficient.

Your geo bid multipliers can be determined such as Geo Bid Multiplier = (Avg. Campaign CPA / Geo CPA) – 1.

For instance, if your campaign-level CPA is $18.40, while your New York CPA is $13.27, you might want to invest more in New York and set your New York bid multiplier to ($18.40 / $13.27) – 1 = 39%. And again, you want to make sure each location drove enough traffic to be able to draw any kind of conclusions; hence, the ‘Click threshold’ field in the attached spreadsheet.

geo bids

In a nutshell, Enhanced Campaigns require some in-depth analysis by device and geo — hopefully, this post will help you get started, or at least put you on the right track if you were not sure how to go about it.

Obviously, those device and geo bid multipliers will need to be updated on a regular basis as consumer behavior evolves over time.

Opinions expressed in the article are those of the guest author and not necessarily Search Engine Land.

Related Topics: Advanced | Channel: Analytics | Google: AdWords: Enhanced Campaigns | How To | How To: Analytics | Search & Analytics

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About The Author: is a Business Analyst in the Digital Marketing team at Adobe, providing advertisers and account management teams with data-driven and actionable insights on strategies to optimize their online marketing mix. One of his specialties is to develop tools and simulators for analysts to use, and executives to use for making business decisions.

Connect with the author via: Email | Google+



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  • http://twitter.com/sammmer Sam Mazaheri

    Hi Benjamin, the link to your excel spreadsheet is broken. I’m looking forward to testing this out! Thanks

  • http://twitter.com/EricRohrback Eric Rohrback

    It doesn’t look like the attachment for the spreadsheet is working. Otherwise, great article. This definitely gives me something to think about when adjusting client campaigns to enhanced.

  • http://twitter.com/elisabethos elisabeth osmeloski

    The link to the Excel file has been fixed, sorry for the trouble! Enjoy!

  • Benjamin Vigneron

    Hi Eric, thanks for the feedback – the link should be fixed!

  • Benjamin Vigneron

    Hi Sam – the link should be working now.

  • Benjamin Vigneron

    Thanks, Elis

  • Adrian Huth

    Finally an article on enhanced campaigns that was actually useful.

  • http://twitter.com/tedives Ted Ives

    Agreed, great actionable stuff, finally!!!

  • http://twitter.com/ebkendo Elizabeth Marsten

    This is most excellent. Thanks!

  • http://twitter.com/obiwankikobi Kiko Correa

    Thanks very much! it’s great to have this tool, and great that you can run the report BEFORE you switch campaigns over to advanced. Appreciate you helping us get prepared.

  • Benjamin Vigneron

    Thanks for the feedback!

  • Benjamin Vigneron

    Thanks!

  • Benjamin Vigneron

    Feedback much appreciated!

  • Hans Reijnen

    Hi,

    Does anyone know if its possible to change the bid multipliers with adwords scripts (or some other automated way)? With a total of about 500 campaigns i’m not realy in the mood to set multipliers by hand for location, device and ad schedule (time of day/day of week) :).

  • http://twitter.com/AdWordsHeroUK AdWords Hero

    Thanks Benjamin, great article and spreadsheet!

 

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