Google Requiring Some Business To Reverify Their Listings Or Be Removed From Google Maps
Some business owners are receiving emails from Google requiring them to reverify their listings within three-weeks or their listings will be removed from Google Maps and Google+ Local.
The emails contain the subject, “Action Required: You have 3 weeks to save your Google Places Listing.”
It is unclear how many businesses have received this notification and how many businesses this may have impacted.
Google’s Jade Wang said in a help thread that these emails are indeed from Google and should be taken seriously. The email reads:
Due to changes in Google Maps, we’d like to inform you that unless you review and confirm the information in your Google Places account, we will no longer be able to keep and show it to Google users after February 21, 2014.
As a result, on this date your listing “LISTING GOES HERE” may be deleted.
If you wish to keep your listing active, follow these three easy steps:
1. Log in to your Google Places account
2. Review and update your information
3. Click the “Submit” button
The Google Places Team
If you are nervous the email went into your spam bucket and it might apply to you, then you can manually take these steps to be safe. Jade said:
If you did receive this email, don’t worry. Please log into Places for Business, take a look at your business information, update it if necessary, and click “Submit.” You’ll need to do this for all listings in your account by February 21, 2014, so they can stay on Google Maps. Otherwise, you’ll need to add your business information and undergo PIN verification using Google Places again.