Apple

New Google+ Feature Allows Users To Lock Posts Or Disable Comments Before Sharing

Yesterday Google Software Engineer Ebby Amirebrahimi announced new features that allow users to lock posts and disable comments. The lock option had previously existed, but could only occur after the share had actually occured.

Disable Comments

How To Lock Posts Or Disable Comments Before Posting To Stream

In order to turn comments off on a post before sharing, or to lock a post completely,  look in the lower right hand corner of your message for an icon that resembles an “X’ed” out chat bubble.   This icon should be exactly to the right of the circles that you have chosen to share with.  Upon clicking this icon, you will see the options “Disable Comments” and “Lock This Post” pop up. Simply choose your preferred method and be on your way.  More info from Ebby himself in his official video:

[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q5b2fFN0t5A[/youtube]

Last week, info was uncovered about simpler privacy features, and this new update confirms Google’s constant push for privacy on Google+.

Explore more on

Google Google+ Privacy Social media X YouTube
Add Search Engine Land as a preferred source on Google

Editorial disclosure

Contributing authors are chosen for their expertise and work under the oversight of the editorial staff. Search Engine Land is owned by Semrush. The contributor was not asked to mention Semrush; the opinions expressed are their own.

About the author

Greg Finn
Greg Finn is the Director of Marketing for Cypress North, a company that provides digital marketing and web development. He is a co-host of Marketing O'Clock and has been in the digital marketing industry for nearly 20 years. You can also find Greg on Twitter (@gregfinn) or LinkedIn.