Google now blocks searchers from sites with deceptive download buttons
Google is now serving a big red warning to searchers before they go to websites with deceptive download buttons.
Google announced they are now blocking searchers from accessing web sites that contain deceptive download buttons. They will show a big red warning after the user clicks on the search result that warns “deceptive site ahead.”
Here is a screen shot of the warning that the searcher may see before trying to access such a site:
Google said, “We’re expanding Safe Browsing protection to protect you from such deceptive embedded content, like social engineering ads.”
These deceptive ads are defined by Google as those that:
- pretend to act, or look and feel, like a trusted entity — like your own device or browser, or the website itself
- try to trick you into doing something you’d only do for a trusted entity — like sharing a password or calling tech support
Here are some examples of these deceptive ads:
Postscript: This turns out to be something we covered in February, Google reposted the news on the Webmaster blog today.