Google announced you can now hide or block certain sites from showing up in the Google search results.
When you do a search in Google, the search results will show a new link near the “Cache” link when you click a result and then return to Google. The link that Google adds to the search results reads “Block all example.com results.” Clicking on that will allow you to block the site from showing up in the Google results.
If you are not logged in, Google will immediately block the result and confirm they did so. But if you want the site to remain blocked on future searches, you have to login and confirm the block request.
At the bottom of the search results it will show you that there are blocked sites. It will let you show the blocked results or manage your blocked sites.
Here is the confirmation page:
Here is the manage block page:
You can access this page under your “Search Settings.”
We’re adding this feature because we believe giving you control over the results you find will provide an even more personalized and enjoyable experience on Google. In addition, while we’re not currently using the domains people block as a signal in ranking, we’ll look at the data and see whether it would be useful as we continue to evaluate and improve our search results in the future. The new feature is rolling out today and tomorrow on Google.com in English for people using Chrome 9+, IE8+ and Firefox 3.5+, and we’ll be expanding to new regions, languages and browsers soon. We hope you find it useful, and we’ll be listening closely to your suggestions.
- New: Block Sites From Google Results Using Chrome’s “Personal Blocklist”
- Google SearchWiki Launches, Lets You Build Your Own Search Results Page
- Google SearchWiki 101: An Illustrated Guide
- Google SearchWiki To Get Off Button, Might Get Used As Ranking Signal
- Blekko Bans Content Farms From Its Index
- Demand Media & Being “The Best Click” On Google