Google

Google Says Don’t Delete Your Disavow File Prior To Uploading A New One

disavow links penguinYesterday, Matt Cutts, Google’s head of search spam, posted an interesting tip to SEOs around disavow file submissions.

He said that you should not delete or remove the original disavow file when uploading a new one. He said instead, upload the new one, which will replace the old disavow file. The reason he said was because when you delete the old one and upload a new one, it generates two emails to the Google team and may confuse them when review manual actions.

Here are his tweets:

As you can see, I am making an assumption that the “folks” being confused are those at Google who review reconsideration requests.

So as a note, when you go ahead and revise your disavow files, make sure you just replace it and not delete the original one.

For more details, see our Disavow link tool category.

Explore more on

Gmail Google Matt Cutts Online advertising Search engine optimization
Add Search Engine Land as a preferred source on Google

Editorial disclosure

Search Engine Land is owned by Semrush. We remain committed to providing high-quality coverage of marketing topics. Unless otherwise noted, this page’s content was written by either an employee or a paid contractor of Semrush Inc.

About the author

Barry Schwartz
Barry Schwartz is a technologist and a Contributing Editor to Search Engine Land and a member of the programming team for SMX events. He owns RustyBrick, a NY based web consulting firm. He also runs Search Engine Roundtable, a popular search blog on very advanced SEM topics.

In 2019, Barry was awarded the Outstanding Community Services Award from Search Engine Land, in 2018 he was awarded the US Search Awards the "US Search Personality Of The Year," you can learn more over here and in 2023 he was listed as a top 50 most influential PPCer by Marketing O'Clock.

Barry can be followed on X here and you can learn more about Barry Schwartz over here or on his personal site.